Testimonials

  • This place is stunning!

    Beautiful cottage with amazing views! Vickie and Ed are amazing hosts and were so helpful providing recommendations as well we greeting us when we arrived. The goats on the property are wonderful and we were so happy to be able to feed them! We will definitely be back!

    Lillian, Mar 2020

  • A beautifully appointed cottage, with spectacular views

    We had a wonderful time at A View to a Hill - such a beautifully appointed cottage, with spectacular views, wonderful hosts, and everything you could possibly need. Our kids loved feeding the goats and Vickie and Ed had also left lots of games and books in the house which they enjoyed. Our visit to the Mansfield Zoo was also a highlight. We would love to return and would highly recommend Vickie and Ed's cottage to anyone visiting the High Country.

    Julia, Mar 2020

  • Nothing short of amazing!

    What a beautiful weekend we had at this lovely property. The property had everything we needed, it was immaculate and it has view that is nothing short of amazing. The beds are very comfortable and the goats are just adorable. My girlfriends and I would definitely stay here again!

    Cristy, Feb 2020

  • Two night getaway...

    After reaching our destination we headed down an impressive, long tree lined driveway. Lovely! Vickie was waiting for us and took us to the cottage. Prior to our arrival Vickie had turned on the air conditioning for our comfort as it was a very hot day. Cottage was gorgeous. Comfy, bright with everything we may have needed. Panoramic views to the horizon and at the end of the day a beautiful sunset. Thank you Vickie.

    Helen, Dec 2019

  • A beautiful place to stay

    Vickie and Ed's 'View to a Hill' was a beautiful place to stay to visit family in Barwite over Xmas. They are exceptional hosts, and the house is gorgeous with lots of thoughtful touches to enhance our stay. The view is spectacular for sunsets on the deck and my teen-aged niece and nephew loved meeting and hand-feeding the goats! we'll definitely return - thanks Vickie and Ed! :)

    Lara, Dec 2019

  • Great place to spend awhile

    Fantastic cottage. Accommodation was better than described and the farm setting absolutely lovely. Dealing with the owners was a breeze. Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a weekend. Would love to have been able to spend alot more time here.

    Susan, Nov 2019

  • We love love loved this stay!

    The house is so lovely and had everything we needed. The most amazing thing is the view and the sunsets were just so beautiful. Vickie and Ed are fantastic hosts that genuinely cared about not only our stay but our experience in this neck of the woods. We were given lots of suggestions of where to go and what to do. Hands down though, the goats and other animals were our favourite. They are such characters and were a source of great entertainment. The kids loved getting to feed them. What a beautiful part of the world this is and a really perfect spot to stay.

    Bec, Sept 2019

  • Truly a place to unwind

    With more windows than walls, all looking out to open land and farmers fields, this is truly a place to unwind. We spent a week here with our kids and it flew by. We are back in the city now and back at work but feel refreshed and renewed - more than we expected from just a 1 week break. Highly recommend.

    Tristonne, Sept 2019

  • The pictures don’t do it justice!

    The place, views, animals, host and the local area all amazing. We will definitely be back. Thanks so much.

    Tim, Sept 2019

  • Spot on

    A piece of paradise that I'd rather keep secret but also too good not to share! Vickie and Ed were great with taking our daughter to feed the animals and they also lent us some snow gear for her too. The house is beautiful and in a great location, so quiet and the views are amazing. Now to start saving for our return trip...

    Jared, Aug 2019

  • Enjoyable midwinter stay

    We stayed at the property for a week in August. Before arrival we received detailed instructions how to find the cottage. The hosts Vickie and Eddy greeted us on arrival which was very nice and welcoming. The property has a warm feel to it, is well equipped, the beds are exceptionally comfortable and we really enjoyed the fireplace, especially on the cold and windy days when we could not go to Mount Buller for skiing. Any questions we had during the stay were promptly addressed which made the stay even more enjoyable. We really enjoyed the animals near the property, goats and alpacas, in addition to the kangaroos and birds. Overall, a very good stay, a place we would be happy to return to.

    Andrzej, Aug 2019

  • Vickie and Ed have created something quite special

    Nestled into a hillside, their property offers sweeping views of the high country! Their cottage is perfectly setup for couples or young families and Vickie and are very hospitable! We left wanting for nothing but more of the stunning peace and quiet we enjoyed during our stay.

    Alison, Jul 2019

  • Fresh air away from city

    Vickie and Ed place were amazing! All the thoughts they put inside the cottage is wellthought and memorable. My friends and I had an amazing night there. If you are looking for a nice and relaxing place to go or some fresh air away from city, def recommend the place!

    Hwa, Jul 2019

  • Fantastic

    Vickie & Ed great hosts very friendly alot knowledge of area great advice on what to do Cottage is very comfortable clean great access to mount buller great for kids animals very friendly live to be feed will book cottage again.

    Vincenzo, Jul 2019

  • Really clean and cozy

    The place is really clean and cozy, and the host is really friendly as well! View from the cottage was spectacular!

    Khoo, Jul 2019

  • Loved every minute!

    We could not fault our stay at View to a Hill. Vickie was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome. The whole house was immaculate and had everything we needed. The whole family loved feeding the animals and watching the beautiful sunsets.

    Loni, Jul 2019

  • Highly recommended

    Beautiful accommodation and super good host. The place is clean and warm. The host is thoughtful and quick to respond our needs. The 'pets' are adorable. We had a great stay at Vickie and Ed's place.

    Rachael, Jul 2019

  • Absolutely one of the most beautiful places we’ve stayed with amazing views

    The cottage is so warm and the perfect size, and had everything we needed. We only regret not staying longer and spending even more time with those gorgeous goats and llamas! Will be back next year for sure!

    Nicole, Jun 2019

  • Cosy country home with a touch of elegance

    Vickie is a great host and tremendously helpful. She helped me with the pre trip planning. The house is simply wonderful - cosy country home with a touch of elegance, in the most tranquil setting. Great experience for my family.

    Poh, Jun 2019

  • The cottage is immaculate

    Quality fittings and tastefully decorated. It is in a beautiful, quiet location and the hosts are very welcoming.

    Susan, Jun 2019

  • A must visit place

    Vickie is a wonderful host and has a beautiful place. Enjoy the cute animals and amazing scenery. It is a must visit place. Loved the hospitality and the fireplace was such a lovely touch in the winter. All the attention to details was such a pleasing experience. Thank you Vickie!

    Monisha, May 2019

  • Can not recommend enough!!!

    My now Husband and I spent the lead up to and our wedding night in this property and it was everything we were hoping for and more! Vickie and Ed were both incredibly lovely, and we can not wait to come back again for snow season!

    Brittany, May 2019

  • The perfect place to unplug and unwind

    A warm, welcoming immaculately presented property. We absolutely loved our stay, the house was immaculate with everything that we needed. Vickie and Ed were extremely welcoming and warm and made sure that our every need was accommodated for. We could have sat on the deck forever The kids loved the goats and alpacas and feeding time was a highlight of their day. I would highly recommend this property. We are already planning our next trip.

    Anne, Mar 2019

  • If you want a little piece of heaven, look no further

    This is a gorgeous part of Victoria to have a relaxing weekend if you love the great outdoors, fine food and furry friends. Vickie and Ed were amazing, generous, helpful hosts who made us feel welcome in their oasis and both went out of their way to ensure our family had a lovely time. Their mini goats are divine and our girls (ages 11 and 12) had such fun with them - a real highlight. Their accommodation is immaculate, comfortable, stylish and fitted out with little touches (thank you for the chocolates) that ensure that you will want to return.

    Andrea, Mar 2019

  • Dinner on the balcony as the sun set

    We had a lovely weekend away at the Farm Stay! The house, garden and farm were beautiful and it was so lovely for our little girl to be able to feed the animals and ride on the play tractor. The house was beautifully decorated and relaxed and the layout was perfect for putting our little girl to bed and then enjoying dinner on the balcony as the sun set!

    Julia, Feb 2019

  • This house is a fantastic country getaway.

    15 minutes outside of Mansfield made getting supplies or dinner easy. The house was beautiful, clean and had many special touches that made the stay even better. Vickie and Ed were spectacular hosts, the hospitality was great, they even let us hand feed all of their animals which was amazing!

    Kelly, Feb 2019

  • Perfect in every way 5/5

    Spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean, magnificent views and lovely hosts. That about sums up our three day stay at A View to a Hill. Vickie and Ed should be very proud of what they have created. We just wished we lived closer (it’s a long way from the U.K.), otherwise we would be regular visitors.

    Bruce, Jan‎ ‎2019

  • Wonderful views over the Broken River valley

    We stayed at Vickie and Ed's place for 3 nights during January 2019. It is a lovely clean small house / cottage with wonderful views over the Broken River valley. The Pygmy Goats, garden and beautiful stonework give the place an individual character and the setting is very relaxing. Our two children (9 & 13) loved the house with our 9 year old son drawing plans of it to take home! Feeding the pygmy goats was also a hit. Vickie and Ed were very hospitable, with our son enjoying playing with Vicki and Ed's children (this was completely optional of course).

    Paul, Jan 2019

  • Special place with great care taken by the owners to make the stay wonderful, for adults and children 5/5

    We stayed here in summer 2019, 3 adults and 3 children. Its a beautiful modern house with stunning views and a lovely garden with access to farm animals. Great for adults and children. The owners have put a lot of care and effort into the house which has an established garden and beyond that farm animals that children can play with. The location is peaceful and distanced from neighboring properties, but the owners were close by and willing to help with any needs. Also an easy driving distance from Mansfield. We really enjoyed our stay and would like to return!

    Susan, Jan‎ ‎2019

  • A very relaxing environment

    Great place, view and a very relaxing environment. The kids loved it as well.

    Bernie, December 2018

  • Outstanding accommodation

    Vickie and Ed are so attentive, friendly and helpful. We had an 18 month old and he absolutely loved his stay too. It is a beautiful spot with lots to do in the area or simply relax at the house watching the superb view, sunsets and animals. Simply superb!

    Vicky, November 2018

  • One of the most beautiful places in Vic.

    This is one of the most beautiful places we’ve been in Vic. The cottage is spotless, the farm is right at your doorstep and the views from the living room are as if you are in a live postcard. We feel so lucky to get to know you both Vicki & Ed and to experience the dream you created. You are def loving tot dream and I can only wish we would see you guys again one day.

    Marlin, October 2018

  • Lovely friendly cottage

    Lovely friendly cottage with everything you need and wonderful views. We’ve returned for a second visit and will be back again.

    Jane, October 2018

  • Tranquility and beautiful surrounds

    Once you drive onto the property, you’ll be greeted with a sense of tranquility and beautiful surrounds! The place is very nice, and the views were amazing! Vickie was very accommodating and friendly. The place was clean, and child friendly. We had everything we needed in our stay. Loved the fireplace and the views on the deck. Then the feeding of the animals was a highlight! Wish we had stayed longer! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! We really enjoyed our stay especially my niece! We’ll be back!

    Ria, September 2018

  • We will definitely be back... and can't wait!

    We had the best time at Vickie and Ed's place. We spent a couple of nights to see Mount Buller but the highlight was staying at their accommodation. We have an 18 month old who absolutely loved the little animals, tractor and large area outside. The place has got everything you can think of and we just felt totally relaxed throughout our stay. We will definitely be back and can't wait. Thank you

    Nicola, September 2018

  • What an amazing place to stay!!

    Everything was PERFECT, we cannot wait to go back again. Our 3 boys loved the animals, the swinging ropes, the toy tractor and toys/books/puzzles. The view was breathtaking and it was one of the cleanest most thought-out places we have ever stayed in. The kitchen is every well equipped with quality homewares, right down to paper towel and glad wrap, you will not need to bring a thing from your own kitchen. If you stay here you will not be disappointed, everything was truly amazing!

    Amanda, August 2018

  • Vickie & Ed are amazing hosts!

    When we arrived after a day of skiing the fire was lit and the cottage was warm and cozy with lights on. The property is gorgeous inside and out and although a little drive to the mountain each day, we much preferred having a great space and so much more value for dinner. The cottage has everything you want and we look forward to returning.

    Nerida, August 2018

  • This place is awesome

    The exterior and interior design is lovely. Vickie and Ed gave us a warm and friendly welcome. The goats and alpacas are just adorable and we get to feed them. The house is warm and kitchen is well equipped for us to do cooking. With Vickie' s recommendation, we get to go for a walk nearby and saw a huge family of kangaroos and wallabies!

    Cassandra, August 2018

  • Luxury home away from home 10.0

    Such luxury to your senses. Perfect for relaxing and provided all home needs with added relaxation. So clean and beautifully designed. Highly recommended.

    Venus, August 2018

  • Beautiful, clean place 10.0

    Wonderful view. Vickie and Ed are great hosts. Definitely will stay here again.

    Ya-Ling, 13/07/2018

  • Great cosy cottage

    Great cosy cottage, services and amenities are greater than expected.

    Binh, July 2018

  • Lovingly restored and a wonderful place to stay 5/5

    This property is really a home away from home. Lovingly restored by the owners we enjoyed our stay immensely. A great place to stay close to lovely Mansfield and the Mt Buller ski fields. Highly recommended. We will be back for another stay.

    Ian and Lois, July 2018

  • One of the best AirBnb experiences

    Vickie and Ed’s cottage is one of the best AirBnb experiences and definitely coming back next time. The hosts are so warm and welcoming, the cottage was super clean, comfy and has beautiful view from the veranda. My son especially loved meeting the goats! It’s a little gem!

    Muffe, July 2018

  • Perfect for a weekend getaway

    Vickie and Ed are fantastic hosts and very welcoming. They offered great recommendations of activities around the area. As for the location, the house and surroundings are amazing and the views just stunning. Perfect for a weekend getaway. Highly recommended!!

    Yuanlong, June 2018

  • Very pretty

    Great spot, very pretty. Cosy cottage.

    Kat, June 2018

  • The most beautiful view plus the rest

    We had a wonderful Easter break. The stone cottage is so pretty on the outside and cosy on the inside with all you need for a holiday break. Comfortable beds are essential to us and that they were! You can see the beautiful views from within the cottage, the verandah and the gardens. Friendly farm animals were wonderful and enjoyed by our daughter and ourselves. Vickie and Ed really pride themselves on making it a lovely experience and they have even more ideas for the future. We've already discussed that we will be back! Thank you.

    Belinda, Wonga Park, Melbourne - March 2018

  • Best place in Mansfield

    We had a fantastic stay. The place is very well taken care of, very clean and has the best views in the whole Mansfield area. Close to walking tracks as well as the town centre. Far from main roads and traffic and very quiet. Beautiful and friendly animals. The hosts Vickie and Ed are lovely and friendly people and what they have done so far is truly inspiring. Very much recommended.

    Hormoz - 31 May 2018

  • A beautiful property with stunning views

    Vickie and Ed were very warm, friendly and welcoming hosts! Such a beautiful property with stunning views. It was so peaceful and tranquil that I didn't want to leave! The cottage was cosy and well appointed. We loved the goats and alpacas. A great space for toddlers too! Our son love riding the toy tractor, playing on the swing and exploring in nature!

    Michelle, 25 Apr-27 Apr 2018

  • Peaceful and the goats are so cute

    We loved it, peaceful and the goats are so cute. Vickie was very attentive and had ensured that we had everything we would need.

    Sara, 20 Apr-22 Apr 2018

  • Beautiful property in an amazing location

    We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every element of our stay. The cottage is beautifully designed and appointed with multiple outdoor sitting and eating spaces - all lovely. Brilliant views and lovely garden surrounds. Our hosts were really helpful, generous and friendly. Definitely intend to return.

    Malia, 24 Mar 2018

  • Highly recommended

    Ed and Vicki were lovely hosts. Their place is amazing. I highly recommend staying here.

    Jen, 16 Mar-18 Mar 2018

  • Perfect for a long weekend getaway

    Vickie and Ed are really lovely people, with a fantastic property which was perfect for a long weekend getaway from Ballarat. The accommodation is excellent, very well maintained, and with a surrounding deck that provided magnificent views of sunsets and surrounding plains. We were lucky enough to visit just a few days after some baby goats had been born - they were a real highlight. The hosts were great at letting us know what was happening in the area which was really helpful. Highly recommended.

    Gavin, March 2018

  • Absolutely stunning!!

    Vickie and Ed's place offers a taste of country life at its finest. The views from the property are breathtaking, the house and garden are perfect and the hospitality we received was genuine, friendly and very helpful. We absolutely loved our stay!!

    Erin, March 2018

  • Breathtaking views and everything you need

    Vickie and Ed were wonderful hosts and the cottage was well equipped with everything you needed. High quality linen and lovely fluffy towels added that touch of luxury. The views and surrounds were breathtaking and it was lovely sitting out on the deck taking it all in. There was plenty for our toddler to do with books, toys, a rope swing, animals and plenty of grass for her to run around. Thanks again for providing a great place to stay.

    Shane, Jan 2018

  • Beautiful!

    We loved every minute of our five nights here. The cottage was immaculately clean, extremely comfortable and the attention to detail was amazing. The views across the valley towards the distant mountains are truly gorgeous. We loved the gardens and the alpacas and goats. Our hosts were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. A great location with easy access to all that the North-East of Victoria has to offer. We came home thoroughly relaxed with great memories. After all, isn’t that what it’s all about?

    Fiona, 14 Nov 2017

  • Deluxe Weekend Away

    Overall rating - 5 out of 5
    Cleanliness - 5 out of 5
    Comfort - 5 out of 5
    Quality - 5 out of 5
    Location - 5 out of 5

    We had an amazing weekend at the cottage. The cottage is so cosy and tastefully decorated. Everything about this cottage is high end, the beds are really comfortable, beautiful white fresh linen and towels. Owners are so accommodating, coffee pods and milk provided and plenty of firewood for both indoor and outdoor fireplaces. The cottage is a short drive from Mansfield, far enough away to feel as though you are in the country but a short drive into town. We loved staying here perfect family getaway. The walks are amazing especially down to the river to enjoy an afternoon picnic. The views from the veranda will stay with me forever!!!

    Carys, October 10 2017

  • Amazing country house close to the snow

    We had the pleasure to stay in this hidden gem. the hosts are very friendly and responsive. The house was beautifully crafted and built. It's spacious and come with everything you need including kitchen equipment. The property is inside a farm with a view to the hill:) We stayed there for a snow trip to Buller. Would definitely love to go back and highly recommend it to other guests.

    Sarah, 14/09/2017 (Booking.com)

  • A Real Treasure

    Overall rating - 5 out of 5
    Quality - 5 out of 5
    Cleanliness - 5 out of 5
    Location - 5 out of 5
    Comfort - 5 out of 5

    We had an absolutely wonderful stay. The cottage was very clean, homely and comfortable, and the owners were really welcoming. They were very accommodating and ensured we had a perfect stay. Everything about this property was perfect and exceeded our expectations. The views of gorgeous surrounding green hills were unforgettable and the cottage is conveniently located within a short drive to Mansfield township. It was a truly memorable holiday with our toddler who absolutely loved patting the very friendly goats on the property who made it all the more special. The grassy garden area next to the cottage was a great space for our toddler to run around and play outside. She loved the tyre swing and finding little gnomes in the garden. There were also toys, books and DVD’s to keep our little one entertained. We really loved our stay and it was a truly memorable holiday for us. A really great place for families. We can’t wait to return again for another special getaway in future. This property is a real treasure. Thank you so much to the owners Vickie and Ed for sharing their absolutely gorgeous property.

    Chris and Robyn, July 2017 (Stayz)

  • Wonderful break

    Overall rating - 5 out of 5
    Quality - 5 out of 5
    Cleanliness - 5 out of 5
    Location - 5 out of 5
    Comfort - 5 out of 5

    We had an amazing time at the property. The place is so cosy and no detail was spared to ensure we had a wonderful stay. The property is immaculate and the kitchen is very well equipped. The view was awesome, and our daughters had a ball playing and visiting the goats. The owners are lovely and very easy to deal with. We will absolutely go back.

    Luisa, July 2017 (Stayz)